Green Living

The Bride Wore Green

These resources make it easy to plan a wedding that reflects your eco values.
The Bride Wore Green
Pin it

Invitations

 

The following websites offer invitation design, and they print on eco-friendly paper: Pulp & Circumstance (pulpandcircumstance.ca); Green Field Paper Company (greenfieldpaper.com/asccustompages/products.asp?categoryid=12); Plantable Papers by Bloom (plantablepaper.com); Botanical Paperworks (botanicalpaperworks.com/wedding-favors-and-invitations.php); and Smock (smockpaper.com), a new letterpress company that prints on bamboo.

 

You can also ask your favorite invite company if they offer recycled paper—companies like Hello!Lucky (hellolucky.com) and Paper Source (paper-source.com) have options for green-minded couples.

Or try socializr.com, an e-mail and web-based invitation service from the creators of Friendster. Make an invite using the site’s templates and send it to guests’ e-mail accounts; they can get details and RSVP online.

Companies like The Knot (theknot.com) or eWedding (eWedding.com) let you set up personalized wedding websites.

Wedding Gowns

To track down previously owned dresses, try craigslist.org or usedweddingdresses.com.

The Bridal Garden (bridalgarden.org) is a New York City bridal consignment shop that offers donated couture and designer bridal gowns at up to 75 percent off the original price. The not-for-profit shop donates proceeds to children’s charities.

Encore Bridal (encorebridal.com) accepts new and gently used dresses on consignment and donates a portion of each sale to charities that support cervical cancer education and research.

Designer Anna Mkhitarian (annatarian.com) makes custom gowns out of recycled fabrics and often has a client bring pieces of her mother’s dress or a strand of her grandmother’s pearls to be used as embellishment.

Threadhead Creations (threadheadcreations.com) sells ready-to-wear dresses made from eco fabrics like hemp, starting at $475. And Rawganique.com has hemp wedding gowns starting at $350. Deborah Lindquist (deborahlindquist.com) offers a line of edgy bustier dresses (her two-piece vintage lace gown is shown here) made from hemp, silk, and vintage fabrics, starting at $875.

Pages