Mind & Body

The 7 Chakras

According to the most common Hindu yoga model, the seven chakras are the body's major energy centers. Each is associated with physical, emotional, and spiritual aspects.
The 7 Chakras
Pin it Nick Horne

1st chakra: root
governs: survival instincts, physical functions, sense of groundedness
signs of imbalance: constipation, obesity, leg or knee problems

2nd chakra: sacral
governs: sexuality, emotion, nurturing instincts, creativity
signs of imbalance: low-back pain, reproductive issues, bladder or kidney troubles

3rd chakra: solar plexus
governs: will, drive, ego, control, freedom, metabolism
signs of imbalance: ulcers, digestive disorders, liver and gallbladder ailments, diabetes

4th chakra: heart
governs: love, compassion, relationships
signs of imbalance: heart disease, high blood pressure

5th chakra: throat
governs: communication, creativity, self-expression
signs of imbalance: sore throat, laryngitis, thyroid imbalance, respiratory and/or hearing problems

6th chakra: brow
governs: intuition, thought, psychic awareness, dreams, visions
signs of imbalance: headaches, problems with the nervous system

7th chakra: crown
governs: cosmic consciousness, spirituality, wisdom, universal truth
signs of imbalance: confusion, depression, inability to learn